A stunning sunrise greeted paddlers on March 16, 2014 during the 2nd stop of the 2014 Australian N1SCO tour at the beautiful Narrabeen Lakes on Sydney’s Northern Beaches. Jamieson Park Paddle was the host, and competitors ranged from 5 years of age all the way into the over 50’ divisions!

To ensure paddlers were ready for the upcoming N1SCO races, Naish team riders Karla Gilbert, Riggs Napoleon and Toby Cracknell hosted a Race/Paddle technique demonstration and clinic. Before long, competitors were ready to hit the water!

Everyone was ripping it up on the Naish ONE inflatable stand up paddle boards! Naish Team riders Toby Cracknell and Riggs Napoleon decided to spice up the distance race by racing on the Naish ONE board between them, while Naish Australia’s JB took his daughter and 3rd place winner in the junior Girl’s Jessica for the 1.6km sprint. There was definitely no shortage of smiles on the day and everyone had their fair share of water time and racing.

Toby and Riggs tied for 1st in the Open Men’s as they both had equal 1st’s and 2nd’s in each of the heats and their wins were by mere millimetres. Karla Gilbert powered through every race, winning gold in the women’s, while the Grom’s had a ball battling the light winds in their distance race and short sprints. The Over 40’s and 50’s in both Men’s and Women’s were the most competitive with place changes every few seconds and some very tight buoy turns.

Well done to all competitors on an exciting day of racing!

Full Results:

Junior Boys
1st-Campbell Hayes
2nd-Jake Messenger
3rd-Cayden Atterby

Junior Girls
1st-Jessica Montgomery
2nd-Taylah Montgomery
3rd-Jessica Messenger

Open Mens
1st-Riggs Napoleon / Toby Cracknell   Tie
2nd-Even Green
3rd-John Messenger (aka. JB from Naish Australia)

Open Womens
1st-Karla Gilbert
2nd-Tammy Montgomery
3rd-Alison Fullagar

Mens over 40’s
1st.-Andrew Cassidy
2nd-Chris Ting
3rd-Nial Wright

Mens over 50’s
1st-Stuart Murray
2nd-Mike Hayes
3rd-Bret Baber

Womens over 40’s
1st-Lucy Kelly
2nd-Rebecca Graham
3rd-Bernie serone

Best and Fairest
Men – Kieran O’Riordan
Women – Ke’ale Dorries